For unbelievers, I think the big questions of our time have to do with pain/evil and justice.

  1. Why wouldn’t god, if he were a good god, create a world, if it was in her power, that was good? Or even just better?
    • millions of people (including babies and children) slaughtered at the hands of the Nazis.
    • god ordered the genocide of the nations in the promised land (including babies and children).
  2. How could a good god create a system that will send the majority, half, some or even just one person to an eternity of suffering?
  3. If god cannot forgive us without first being appeased by the blood of Jesus, why/how does he expect us to forgive our enemies?

All too often the answer is either:

  • because of mankind’s sin, or
  • god’s ways are bigger than our ways

There are many more such questions that are being asked that are not answered by the typical rhetoric that flows out of the mouths of much Christendom’s theology. These answers have become unsatisfactory to me let alone to a non-believer.

As a believer, on top of these questions, my one question is:

  • How do we reconcile all the different and often opposing beliefs and theologies that are found in the different christian narratives? (Coptic, Orthodox[eastern and oriental], Catholic, Protestant, Anabaptist, emergent, evangelical, charismatic, conservative, liberal, …)

If I could be so bold as to say that I feel that god is leading me away from the pat answers and beliefs of the tribe I find myself among (conservative, charismatic evangelicals – I may even call my tribe fundamentalists). I hear from the throne of authority of my tribe, on any given Sunday, things that god is doing and saying in our midst; and more often than not these very things are the opposite of what she has been saying to me.

So, the question I feel that is worth asking is, how are we to deal with the seemingly incongruentcy of all our diverse beliefs and theologies?

