I love this post that I found on the How God Messed Up My Religion blog. It describes in such poetic form just how I have been feeling.

I Lost my Religion

OK, somewhere between evangelicalism
and post-modernity angst,
I misplaced my religion.
I thought it was securely fastened to my faith,
but apparently not.
I might have dropped it when I peered over the rail
into the abyss of debate over doctrine and belief-ism;
or maybe when I took out the trash,
bags and piles of useless dogma that was cluttering up my sacred space.
I don’t know.
I was a bit nervous at first how my faith would take it,
losing my religion I mean.
They’ve been inseparable for so long.
But so far so good.
I’d go so far as to say that my faith has found new vitality.
I suspect that there was some co-dependency going on
between it and religion.
It has been a healthy separation.
I lost my religion. In doing so, I found a new vista of grace and beauty in faith.

Pam Hogeweide

