Our perception [of truth] is the “truth” we live in, isn’t it?
Deception and denial are tricky little beasts, for the simple reason that we don’t know we are in denial, because we are…well…in denial. It’s a self-perpetuating system that is driven by the filters in our mind.
read more

How much are we stuck in a false worldview because of the ‘truth’ we live in? As a christian, what I believe about God affects my actions, my attitudes, my politics and my relationships. What I believe about God does not affect my salvation!(Thank God.)

Here is some interesting – and disturbing – facts. In a number of polls in the USA, Christians rank higher then other world views in supporting torture. Also, the more conservative, the more support.  I mustn’t be conservative, because I find this appalling!

They found that 62 percent of white evangelical Protestants believe “the use of torture against suspected terrorists to gain important information” to be often or sometimes justified.
read more

The poll by Pew Forum found 49% of the total US population thought that the use of torture against suspected terrorists is often or sometimes justified.

Total Population: 49%
White Evangelical Protestants: 62%
White non-Hispanic Catholics: 51%
White Mainline Protestants: 46%
Unaffiliated: 40%
Attend religious services
At least weekly: 54%
Monthly or several times a year: 51%
Seldom or never: 42%

I am proud to say that I am not for torture – ever!

I am convinced that this comes from what I believe about God and what I believe about humanity, even though when this poll came out I would have been counted among those that were more likely to accept torture (today I am now counted among the unaffiliated who seldom or never attend a religious service).

