On one hand, I think worship is a time to move off the grid, cut the wires and focus in on God alone. However, this blog post makes you think about tweeting in worship being a good thing. Make you wonder… what if one of our teens were to tweet their friends about how awesome worship was? Food for thought.
Wired Jesus

My problem with this “move off the grid, cut the wires and focus in on God alone” is that it promotes dualism. It defines the boundary of sacred/ profane whereas I believe much of Jesus’ ministry subverted it. Our bodies are the Temple; our lives are worship. It brings me back to something I have quoted before: “we are not to live our lives and share our faith, rather we are to live our faith and share our lives”.

Setting aside a sacred hour or two a week where we are to go to a temple or alter and worship, compartmentalizes our lives. I have no problem cutting the wires to dedicate more energy towards God, I have a problem saying that this should be done every Sunday between 10am and noon. This whole mindset develops that attitude that we need to enter into another state; we need to “come prepared”, “attend pre-service prayer to help us enter in”. This fosters dualism.

Instead, I believe we are to live simply, not in some supper spiritual some-where but rather down to earth where mixing with the sinners and tax-collectors is no different than gathering with fellow believers and saints.

The naked ex-pastor has blogged a few posts recently about the problem with mission statements and leadership vision for the church. One sentence that has been planted in my being is how “something so beautiful [as simple fellowship] has suddenly been poisoned with expressions of discontent, ambition, and the destructive desire for the illusive ‘more’. ” This striving, that is so prevalent, especially in the stream of Christianity whence I came out of, is so different then the resting in Christ or the letting go where I am finding Christ’s life blossoming within me. This life of Christ is a constant that cannot be earned or prayed into existence, it comes from just being. Sure I can walk out of this state, like when  I worry about how to stretch out my pay check, or when I am seeking more of God. Both of these are future focused and take me out of God’s present. They are also two sides to the lie of dualism.

